Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Benton County Charter


Benton County is a home rule county, which means the county is governed by a charter.

In 1972, the voters of Benton County approved a charter as allowed under the Oregon Constitution. Since its approval, voters have amended the Charter 9 times.

Home rule is just what it seems – voters in the county decide how the county government is set up and how it operates. In Benton County, the voters have determined the system of government for its citizens is a three-member Board of Commissioners and an elected Sheriff. The Board of Commissioners has the authority to establish departments to operate the day-to-day business of the county. The Board has also established the County Administrator position to manage the county.

Benton County is one of 9 home rule counties in the state. The other 27 counties are organized under state laws that determine their structure and functions.

Back to top